Glen Tay Block

Some History of The Glen Tay Block Race

Record Holder Steve Boyd
The 14.7k or 9.1 mile Glen Tay Block Race was first run on Thursday, October 31, 1907 with Ed Code as the winner. The race was contested as a Thanksgiving day event for several years. For the pre-race article in The Perth Courier CLICK HERE. For the post-race article CLICK HERE.

The modern edition was founded in 1967 by Perth educator and coach Tom Graham as a Centennial year project. It was sponsored by Perth merchants Bill and Jack Wilson, and encouraged by sportsmen Rusty White and Peter Code. The successful event continues with Branch 244, Royal Canadian Legion as the sponsor. The Perth Runners organize and conduct the race with the assistance of numerous helpers, particularly along the race course. Many of the volunteers, especially families, have been involved for several years.

The race begins and ends on Gore St., directly in front of the Perth Museum. Replicas of the Bill Wilson Memorial Trophy (men), and the Perth Runners Trophy (women) are awarded to the race winners. Medals and prizes are awarded in several age class categories. A Branch 244 Legion commemorative pennant, and a race certificate are presented to each participant. The course records are: Overall record of 45:14 set in 2003 by Kingston's Steve Boyd; and women's record of 54:36 set in 1982 by Helen Cooper of Ottawa. The previous course record of 45:30 was held by Perth native Doug Scorrar from 1976 to 2003.

1911 race

1967 GTBR Race
1967 Glen Tay Block Race - Revival of original historic race during Perth Old Home Week in July.
Left to Right - Back Row: Bill Wilson (sponsor), Ron Wallingford 47:41, Doug Scorrar 49:24, John Park 50:34, John Dextras 53:16, Duncan Rodgerson 54:55, Rusty White (local sportsman).
Middle Row: Larry Lemay, Bill Arnold 55:46, Bill Blair 59:31, John Burke 69:31, Andy Kozak, ?.
Front Row: Paul ?, Joe Mitchell, Peter Code, Tom Clapp.

* In June, 1965, Ron Wallingford won the U.S. Amateur Athletic Union's marathon championship in a time of 2:22.29.

In the photo to the right, Craig Ross and Stephen King are shown after the finish of the 1987 Glen Tay Block Race. Stephen King, on the right, is an area educator, and as of 2007 is still involved in the local running scene. Ross-King Photo
Winner 1995 To the left in this 1995 photo from The Perth Courier files, are Alain Boucher number 725 - winner, and Terry Burwell who placed second. The record set by Perth's Doug Scorrar in 1976 of 45:30 was still holding, and would only be broken by Kingston's Steve Boyd in 2003 with a time of 45:14.

Kris Percival (now committee member Kris Plant) in 1979, just before she started Grade 9 at PDCI, placing second in the Junior Women's division. Kris became a champion Track & Field and Cross Country runner for PDCI. As of the year 2007, Kris has come back to endurance races, and specializes in triathlons. She has been a long-time competitor in the Glen Tay Block Race Kris Percival
Drummond Track and Field This photo from the fall of 1963 shows committee member John Burke, front left; race director Tom Graham front center; and former record holder Doug Scorrar, rear left; after a successful track meet. The relay races in Bellville, ON, were two-man competitions on a 440 yard track, with the runners alternating every lap. At the time Tom Graham was the coach, and the rest were students at Perth & District Collegiate Institute.

The other runners are: Pete Scorrar, rear right; and Gerry Campbell, front right. Doug Scorrar recalls that both PDCI teams in the six and eight mile relays won their events.

Tom Graham Award At left, Race Director Tom Graham receives award at the 2002 Glen Tay Block Race. Photo courtesy of Carol Husband and The Perth Courier.

Tom's Short Biography:

  • Race Director since 1967
  • Local Educator 1961-1995
  • Track & Field Coach 1961-2004
  • Personal fitness trainer
Perth native Doug Scorrar, wearing bib #74 in a USA 1970's marathon, held the course record for 27 years. Doug Scorrar